Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2008-03-14 - 6:58 p.m.

A friend started a group on Facebook called �Movie Haiku�. When I joined, her boyfriend (who is the crew coxswain in this entry) insisted I write this poem:

Oscar and Lucinda

A poor parson and
a rich heiress � bound by their
passion for gambling!

Neither of us ever actually saw the movie, but there were a lot of commercials for it. I used to torment him with the line �A poor parson and a rich heiress bound together by their passion � their passion for gambling!�

I�d written a few other movie haiku before that:

The Matrix

What is the Matrix?
When they pan on folks kicking
mid-jump - I mean, whoa...

James Bond (OK, not really a single movie...)

Who was the best Bond -
Sean Connery, Pierce Brosnan,
Timothy Dalton?

Blade Runner

Future of nineteen
seventy-nine makes for the
best movie ever...

Nya wrote some great ones too:

Song of the South

Zip-a-dee-doo-da
Disney says �Keep moving, folks.
Nothing to see here.�

Leaving Las Vegas

Hooker with gold heart
watches drunk drown his sorrows.
The House always wins.

Juno

Awkward teen age sex
leads to unplanned pregnancy
Man, that takes me back
.

� 2008 Geoff Gladstone

If you�ve ever enjoyed my writing, please donate to the Accelerated Cure Project for Multiple Sclerosis and/or the Montel Williams MS Foundation.

previous - next

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!