Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2008-08-17 - 7:50 p.m.

A number of people have emailed or called or told me in person that the person most responsible for killing Angela in the last entry is Angela. This may be true. After all, many people�s spouses get sent off to war and yet they don�t commit suicide. Nonetheless, I worry about the whole excusing things and finding no one else responsible beyond Angela herself.

Some Brown administrators are really good at minimizing things, at implying the impact of something only affects a few people. When I went to that meeting about the design of the new Brown student center with architect Denise Scott Brown, I asked that space for commuter students be incorporated in the plans.

Some dean or something tried to downplay the number of students who didn�t live near campus. I remember thinking I don�t care how few people it is. Hell, I don�t care if it�s just one person. So I�m worried that Brown will shirk off any responsibility for Angela. She killed herself � what can you do? Obviously she was crazy! Mentally unbalanced! It�s not our fault!

Except here�s the thing. If she were in fact emotionally fragile, that�s all the more reason her husband should not have had to be called away to Iraq. �But Geoff!� you might say. �Plenty of people have spouses sent off to serve and they don�t kill themselves!� Ignoring the gross insensitivity inherent in this sentiment, I�ll just say that plenty of people don�t commit suicide, but she did.

Did the System kill Angela? Did Angela kill Angela? Did both?

� 2008 Geoff Gladstone

If you�ve ever enjoyed my writing style or substance, if you�ve ever learned anything from reading this, please donate to the Accelerated Cure Project for Multiple Sclerosis and/or the Montel Williams MS Foundation. Just $5 is suggested, but give whatever you think it�s worth/can afford. �Charity� is really buying something meaningful to you (and it ain�t just for the wealthy�).

previous - next

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!