Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2008-08-27 - 7: 27 p.m.

I got an email mass-soliciting donations to Brown. I wrote back and said that although I immensely my time at Brown, I would not donate a dime until financial aid was extended to RUEs and transfer students. Now it seems Brown is further subdividing RUEs into those who attended college before and those who didn�t.

It�s apparently saying that those who attended college before (having already proved themselves in an academic setting) are just like transfers and hence ineligible for �universal� need-blind admissions. (The less-charitable might say that RUEs and transfers should be thankful to be treading the hallowed halls of the Ivy League, rather than some piss-ant place like Amherst or Duke or Tulane or � God forbid! � going to a state school like Berkeley or U. Michigan or UVA�)

So if Brown succeeds in further separating RUEs into those who�ve attended college before and those who haven�t and provides �universal� need-blind admissions to only the latter group I will donate 1 penny to them. If they extend �universal� need-blind admissions to all RUEs, that�s a step and I will quintuple my donation to 1 nickel. If Brown extends �universal� need-blind admissions to all RUEs and transfer students, as promised I will donate 1 dime. Only if they extend �universal� need-blind admissions to the international students also currently excluded will I donate whatever I can afford.

I�ve always been a bit wary of tying RUEs and transfers to international students, only because I felt internationals were not covered by U.S. law and could not be included in a legal case. The lawyer from the Department of Education confirmed this. However, he noted that while extending �universal� need-blind admissions to international students can�t be legally enforced, it�s just the right thing to do.

I should note that Brown could go a long way towards assuaging my anger in the short term at no cost by simply stopping touting need-blind admissions as �universal� when they�re not.

I�m just saying�

� 2008 Geoff Gladstone

If you�ve ever enjoyed my writing style or substance, if you�ve ever learned anything from reading this, please donate to the Accelerated Cure Project for Multiple Sclerosis and/or the Montel Williams MS Foundation. Just $5 is suggested, but give whatever you think it�s worth/can afford. �Charity� is really buying something meaningful to you (and it ain�t just for the wealthy�).

previous - next

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!