Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-07-13 - 10:58 a.m.

I�m sorry I haven�t been updating for a while now. It must seem like I�ve disappeared. In fact, a friend of mine who regularly reads this journal noticed I hadn�t put up any new posts and called to make sure I wasn�t dead or something. I found her concern surprisingly touching.

But I want to assure you all that I am not dead. I�ve just been staying at Nya�s apartment with no Internet service. I (really we; it�s become Nya�s home too) moved out of my place and into hers on June 23rd. Her apartment is really too small for two people and we didn�t even have an air conditioner for the first few days.

The big question that developed there was: am I on an enforced vacation or am I serving a jail term? See, I didn�t want to leave the air-conditioned bedroom, as it was brutally hot outside it. In fact, when the AC crapped out one day, we were both so uncomfortable that we got a hotel room for the night.

Plus, her cats hang out in the living room and I�m allergic. Claritin pills served me well dealing with dander in the bedroom, but I didn�t want to hazard a direct encounter with the cats themselves. Nya wants me to love them and I insisted that I did so, just from afar. I�m not yet ready to like cuddle with Thurston and Lily.

So mostly I just stayed in the bedroom and read a lot of books. I couldn�t even really type on the computer. We had no keyboard for a while and then it had to be placed awkwardly with no wrist support. Still, it could be a lot worse than just reading and I kept reminding myself it was just temporary.

Because all of this was a sort of interregnum leading up to now. Today we�re back in my former building in climate-controlled, Internet-and-cable-having, doorman-protected, twelfth-floor-view-of-Lake-Michigan splendor. We�re so unbelievably happy and we�ll be here now for a long time.

See, we own this apartment. We closed on the condo yesterday and slept here last night on the floor. Our floor! On Tuesday night, we were doing a final walk-through with the real estate broker. Nya asked if we were allowed to paint the walls. Then she realized: it�s ours � we can do whatever we want!

I�ll write more about this soon, this homeownership thing. In the meantime, I have air conditioning to enjoy.

� 2006 Geoff Gladstone

previous - next

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!