Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2007-05-16 - 1:12 p.m.

Aw man. I got an email Monday from my friend in Bishop Allen, who were supposed to play at our post-honeymoon wedding celebration at the scene of the crime, Saint Ann�s School in Brooklyn (where Nya and I first dated in 1988-89) on June 9th. He can�t do it. He was all apologetic and had a good excuse, but still. That sucks.

No money changed hands, so it�s not like we�re getting ripped off financially. They were doing this as a favor for a friend (we were all DJs at WHRB back in the day) and because they were flattered that we�re using one of their songs as our wedding song. I already sent out Evites touting a performance by them as a feature of our party.

But Christian explained that he had been chatting with his mom on Mothers Day and casually mentioned he was playing our party on June 9th. His mother hemmed and hawed and finally asked him to please not do that, as she�d been planning a surprise first anniversary party for him and his wife. Both families had already bought plane tickets for the weekend.

Well. I can�t really argue with that. It�s not like we�re going to cancel the celebration. Thousands have already been spent on catering and insurance and security and stuff. We�re very lucky to have gotten the space in the first place. Saint Ann�s is a beautiful building; it was a men�s club in the 1920s and is all frescoed and pillastered and whatnot.

As a fallback plan, we�re having a DJ. Well, really a few of my friends (one of whom is in the band Ashford Breaks, who you should also check out) will be playing MP3s over a sound system (which we�re borrowing from Bishop Allen, so at least it�s not a complete wash). We initially looked for a Blondie cover band, but there isn�t one in New York (although oddly there is one in London).

Which brings me to a question for you all: what should we play? Nya and I are compiling a list, brief thus far. �Flight 180� and �Things Are What You Make of Them� by Bishop Allen, of course. �Atomic� by Blondie. �Should I Stay or Should I Go?� by the Clash was traditionally the last song played at school dances back in our day.

Dee-Lite�s �Groove is in the Heart� and Tribe Called Quest�s �Left My Wallet in El Segundo� were big hits in high school (and good songs, more importantly). Mike D. of the Beastie Boys went to Saint Ann�s, of course, but �No Sleep �til Brooklyn� seems a bit too obvious. �Rise� by PIL and �Sweet Dreams� by the Eurythmics have meanings to Nya.

What else? It needs to be good to us and accessible/danceable to guests. Email me suggestions with the link to the left.

� 2007 Geoff Gladstone

previous - next

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!