Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-07-15 - 7:42 a.m.

One morning, probably in spring 1998, several contractors were setting up to do some work on the front of the house where I lived. One of my roommates, a somewhat foppish and effete dresser prone to seersucker and such, went out the front door to go to work. One of the workmen outside called to him.

(Try to imagine a very thick Boston accent here.) �Eh, how ya doin� theyah? Goin� ta work?�
�Oh, good morning. Yes I am.�
�Where ya work theyah?�
�At the Atlantic Monthly. It�s a magazine.�
�Oh yeah?� With a grease-spattered, windburned squint, he peered at my bowtie-clad friend. �Do a lot of homos read it?�

My roommate�s jaw dropped. �Excuse me?�
�Well, we�re lookin� ta advertise. But we gotta reach a lot of people who�ll get work done on their houses. They needa be hom�ow�s.�
�Oh! �Homeowners!��

As of Wednesday, Nya and I are now big homos. Chicagoans, being Midwesterners at heart, may look down on our condo because it doesn�t have a backyard for the kiddie pool. But to my New York-raised view, a doorman in the lobby and a pool on the roof with a high-rise view of the city out the window is everything I want.

I�m incredibly happy to have my own space to shape so it best fits my mobility needs and lifestyle. And I can look out the window onto one of the greatest urban agglomerations there�s ever been. I�m even happier to be sharing this place with the woman I love, to have a home together.

I�ve sometimes heard people say that having children is a sign off maturity. I think that raising children can bring maturity, but actually having them in the first place can be the result of immaturity. Having a mortgage however, that doesn�t happen by accident�

Please come visit and swim in our rooftop pool!

� 2006 Geoff Gladstone

previous - next

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!