Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-07-23 - 10:26 a.m.

I had this dream on one of the first nights I slept in the squat. Our building was near the Jackson Square stop of the T�s Orange line. The tracks were open to the sky at that point, in a trench below ground-level, and you could hear the trains come and go from a few blocks away. Most likely, this was prompted by me hearing in my sleep the first train of the morning come in when the system opened at 5AM.

In my dream, I felt like I had been woken up by a train pulling in and disgorging its passengers. Except it pulled directly into our �living room�. We slept (under sleeping bags and stuff) in a small carpeted space ten feet up (it was only accessible by pulling yourself up from standing on top of a desk we�d placed below the opening) from an open garage floor. I�d imagine the space had originally been an upstairs room reached by stairs that no longer existed. Anyway, the train let passengers out right onto this garage floor below us.

All these people got out and I thought that was weird by itself, that an early-morning train was so packed. But then the people who got out were so loud; they were making all this noise! It was like a whole chorus of voices, babbling and chattering. I couldn�t understand anything distinct that anyone was saying and I wondered who the heck they were all talking to at this hour anyway. �Keep it down!� I wanted to call down to them. �I�m trying to sleep up here.�

Then I realized none of them were actually speaking. It was just that I could hear their thoughts and this made a whole cacophony of disconnected voices apparent. Knowing this made me feel better and I sank deeper into a dreamless sleep.

� 2006 Geoff Gladstone

previous - next

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!