Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-04-17 - 1:34 p.m.

Through my life, time has moved forward inexorably and I�ve seen so many changes in the world. When I was little, I had a TRS-80 that operated in BASIC. Today, personal computers run at 3 gigahertz and more. I inputted and saved data on an audiocassette tape drive. Now, floppy discs are being replaced by USB plug-in gadgets. Atari was a state-of-the-art home videogame system. Today it�s something else. The world goes on.

When I was young, The Tonight Show was hosted by Johnny Carson. Today, it�s Jay Leno. Hill Street Blues was the top cop drama; today Law & Order has been through Logan, Curtis, and Greene�s on his sixth season. The biggest show set in New York was All In the Family. Now it�s probably The Sex of the City. Is Friends even still on? There used to be only three networks. Now there are six. My bones ache.

We used to dance to Michael Jackson on our Walkmans. That was exciting and new that you could take music with you to play just for yourself, not blare it from a ghetto blaster that voraciously ate batteries! Now, I don�t even know what the kids are listening to on their MPs. Maybe the techno? I feel so old and tired. The days continue to pass and I don�t know if I can keep up. It seems like just a time for the young.

� 2006 Geoff Gladstone

(Shoot, maybe I shouldn�t even try to be �funny�. I guess not every entry is going to work�)

previous - next

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!