Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2007-06-26 - 10:12 a.m.

Nya sometimes says bizarre things when she gets up. At first I feared this was a sign of intoxication but then I realized that no, she just says some weird stuff. (Nya is doing okay now. It�s been real tough, but she�s a tough girl. I guess I�m a tough guy. She�s starting an outpatient rehab program today. Thanks very much to the many of you, both who I know personally and don�t, who�ve expressed concern and extended good wishes.)

The other day she half-awoke muttering about chocolate. I should mention that I have a rare allergy to chocolate. A chemical in it (theobromine) makes me hyperactive and very aggressive. Indeed, when I was little before they knew what was going on, they thought I might be psychotic because I�d randomly beat up my playmate after we�d just shared M&Ms. (Theobromine is also in cola. Coke or Pepsi? I can�t have either�)

�We need to get chocolate,� she said through a haze of sleep. �Can we get chocolate?�
Hmm. Guess I�ll play along.
�Okay.�
�Where�s the chocolate?�
�Uhm, I don�t know. Where�s the chocolate?�
�It�s on the ship.�

Ah.

� 2007 Geoff Gladstone

previous - next

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!