Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2007-09-11 - 8:46 a.m.

Todd Beamer was a passenger on United Airlines flight 93 on September 11, 2001. He was involved in the passengers� charge on the plane�s hijackers and is most famous for saying �Let�s roll!� before rushing them. I don�t doubt that he and I would not have been friends had we met. He seems like he was a Dockers-wearing kind of guy. He probably owned a CD by John Tesh. But for a few shining moments on 9/11, Todd Beamer was the essence of punk.

The term �punk� is a jailhouse expression for someone whose role it is to be raped. (�Punk rock� is the sort of music they can be imagined to listen to.) As if being in jail were not bad enough, a punk is a prisoner �turned out� by other inmates and made to be a sexual subservient. Not that there�s anything wrong with being a willing participant in anal sex. But nothing says �prison� quite like having a dick forced up your ass against your will.

On that day, the passengers on that plane were getting fucked against their will. They had no power to change whatever the hell the terrorists were angry about. They were just being extras on a murder weapon and they didn�t let the plane get used that way. Fuck me? Well fuck you too, buddy!

Punk rock is the sort of sound that might be made in retribution. I think Todd and the other passengers who took on the hijackers were the greatest punk band there ever was.

� 2007 Geoff Gladstone

If you�ve ever enjoyed my writing, please donate to the Accelerated Cure Project for Multiple Sclerosis and/or the Montel Williams MS Foundation.

previous - next

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!