Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2008-08-24 - 2:42 a.m.

I just got an email from a reader I�ve never heard from before who noted that there�s another party responsible for Angela�s suicide beyond the System and Angela herself: Us. Everyone around Angela who didn�t make enough of a connection. Everyone who loved Angela and knew she was hurting, but didn�t or couldn�t do enough.

As she puts it: �We are ALL responsible for Angela�s death, and for the Angelas in our lives.� We should all notice �the person next door, the girl in the next seat, the child hiding behind the shed, and take just a little bit more of an interest.� I killed Angela. You killed Angela. The Man killed Angela. Angela killed Angela.

The girl who wrote to me also notes that it�s silly to be mad at the System because the System is a product of People, as surely as the car that crashes or the bandsaw that maims. But given that the System is a product of Us, we can change it. We can deny what Is and replace it with what Can Be. What Will Be.

Lets make the world a little better. Lets help each other. If we each do whatever we can individually, as Christopher Lloyd said in Back to the Future: �Everything will be fine.�

� 2008 Geoff Gladstone

If you�ve ever enjoyed my writing style or substance, if you�ve ever learned anything from reading this, please donate to the Accelerated Cure Project for Multiple Sclerosis and/or the Montel Williams MS Foundation. Just $5 is suggested, but give whatever you think it�s worth/can afford. �Charity� is really buying something meaningful to you (and it ain�t just for the wealthy�).

previous - next

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!