Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-03-20 - 2:14 p.m.

Friday was the last night of Nya�s show. I went to see it (for the third time; most sketches just get funnier) and then went to the cast party with Nya. I hadn�t been to a cast party in a while. Obviously, when I was younger and more involved in theater, they were a regular part of my life (and I had some interesting experiences at some). I�d forgotten how much fun they were.

There was a great deal of beer there of course and after I had a few (oh fine, only one or two � I�ve said I�m kind of a lightweight these days) I was blathering to another girl in the cast about how proud I was of Nya. I guess she was kind of drunk too. She asked if I meant I was proud of Nya�s boobs. Well, I replied, I�m always proud of those. But I meant I was proud of how much Nya�s achieved.

We�ve lived in Chicago only six months and she�s already been in a show. She was just cast in another one. Her writing classes at Second City are going great. This is exactly why I moved here, for Nya to pursue her dream. And now she�s doing it. Oh, she worries that she�s getting too old to be successful. But never mind the fact that Nya�s hotness incarnate at any age. Comics just aren�t generally known for their youthful vigor.

The next day, I got an unexpected package in the mail. The return address said �Jacobs�. Oh my God! Jane Jacobs actually signed my copy of The Death and Life of Great American Cities. There was a note enclosed written by her son. He explained that Jane was recovering from an infection and was too weak to write the note herself. But she had very much enjoyed the letter I�d sent with the book (I told her how much she�d inspired me) and wished me the best.

OK, maybe I just want to crow about how excited I am to have gotten an autograph from my hero. Maybe you could care less. But it�s made me the happiest guy on earth!

No, wait. Nya does that every day. I mean it�s made me even more happy. Er� Ah, you know what I mean.

previous - next

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!