Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2008-01-01 - 4:46 p.m.

Saturn Return is �a time of endings and new beginnings� (to quote one astrologer). It�s when people might change jobs to pursue a career more meaningful to them. They might move somewhere else and form new friendships. They might get married. They might have children.

People say it�s an astrological event that happens when the planet Saturn revolves around its orbit to the same position it was in when you were born. They say it usually occurs at age 29 or 30 or 31. But here�s the thing: the planet Saturn orbits on a very fixed schedule. Every 29.657 years (or so), it comes fully around. You would expect any influence it has on an individual to happen invariably and punctually. So Saturn Return can�t actually be caused by astrology. What is it then?

I would offer that Saturn Return is simply shorthand for a stage in the process of growing up. Sure, people do often start to get their lives together around 29 or 30 or 31. But it can happen at any time. For me (although I wasn�t really conscious of it at the time), I think it happened at 26 when I got sick and started taking steps to be the scholar I had always aspired to be. For Nya, it happened at 34 when she acknowledged that she was an alcoholic and started taking steps to treat it.

�Growing up� is a continuous process that starts at birth and goes on until death. It�s certainly not a singular event where you can say you�re all done. Saturn Return is just a part of it. Lets all grow up, no matter what our age. There�s no schedule. It�s never too early or too late. I hope you experience Saturn Return in 2008 and always.

2007? Oh yeah, I remember that! Good times, good times... But it�s 2008 now. Rock on!

� 2008 Geoff Gladstone

If you�ve ever enjoyed my writing, please donate to the Accelerated Cure Project for Multiple Sclerosis and/or the Montel Williams MS Foundation.

previous - next

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!