Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2007-01-01 - 8:37 p.m.

I�ve had a great year in many ways. I got engaged to the love of my life. We moved in together and became homeowners. I realized I wanted to go back to school and applied to a graduate program I found very exciting. But I unfortunately have been having a tough time physically, gradually declining.

I do not however view this as primarily a tragedy or a cause for hand-wringing and gnashing of teeth. It is rather an opportunity. Every physical limitation presents me with a challenge I�m glad to have the chance to think my way through.

If I can�t perform some action the way I used to, what other ways of doing it can I figure out? Can I ask someone else to easily do it or will this just create too much hassle? Does the task even need to be done in the first place or are there alternate paths to achieve the same end?

Disability is nothing if not excellent for honing problem-solving. Now, of course I wouldn�t recommend coming down with a serious illness to sharpen your own creative abilities. But I would urge you to think hard about all the possible ways of getting what you want to done.

I hope you will figure out how to overcome any obstacle you face this year. There�s always a way; trust me. Let us all find solutions to our problems in 2007 that aren�t immediately obvious.

2006? Been there, done that. 2007: now we�re talking�

� 2007 Geoff Gladstone

previous - next

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!