Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-09-17 - 12:27 p.m.

I haven�t had much Internet access until today. I was staying at other people�s homes for the first part of the month. Then when I got here and set up my computer, it acted all weird. Then I found that the cable modem that�s already here wasn�t connected.

But now I�m back on. The last few posts aren�t listed by the day they were put up, but by the day they were written. I�m kind of bummed that the 9/11 one wasn�t actually posted on 9/11, but what can you do. Go read, if you would. As always, I hope they�re at least marginally compelling.

And may I say, I really don�t understand how people did this disability thing before the Internet. I�ve felt pretty cut off the last few weeks, pretty isolated. Or before cell phones. Or before climate control or curb cuts or any number of other modern conveniences.

I know I�ve thought about it before, but there were once many people back in caveman times or even just the Victorian era or anytime really up to about ten years ago in the West (and still now in less developed parts of the world or right here among the less well off) who did this essentially in bone-chilling solitude. The only connections they had were to family and neighbors, people in close physical proximity. I�m awed. All props to them.

Now excuse me. I have to catch up on my email.

� 2005 Geoff Gladstone

previous - next

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!