Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-01-07 - 11:56 a.m.

A few days ago, I went back through my archives and put �� year Geoff Gladstone� at the bottom of all my entries. I�m not really sure why I did this. I mean please, like my rambling thoughts are really valuable proprietary ideas that have to be guarded against theft. I�m not even sure of the legality of putting �� 2004� on something when it�s 2006.

I guess I got a little weirded out when I noticed from my Diaryland statistics page that someone had linked through to the entry where Nya and I went to �The Producers� by Googling on that girl Sheigh�s full name (which I�ve since taken out). I tracked down her email (she writes for the Hollywood Reporter now) and apologized.

She said not to worry (and though it was cute that Nya and I got back together after so long). She hasn�t acquired any Internet stalkers and we�ve all Googled lost friends and the like before, but still. A little strange and a little creepy somehow. Who was checking on her? I suppose everyone Googles themselves occasionally, but Sheigh didn�t admit to this.

I get a hit on my blog every few days from some obscure Google search. �Fat Day� links to this entry. �Ivy League job search� to this one. Someone ran a search on �Neil Cavuto has MS� and got this. Several have found me from searching for the CTY �underwear dance�. God, I really hope that won�t be my only lasting legacy. I don�t think the Kids even do it anymore.

I really should keep track of the stranger ones. A recent hit (which produced this, of course) was from a search for �Brian Warner� from a French-language search engine. I find it terribly funny to imagine some Marilyn Manson fan in France coming across my drivel. And I was pretty high on the relevant link list, like 31 or something.

Someone emailed me once because they were considering moving to Albuquerque, NM, and researching the job climate in the high-tech sector there. Some search engine produced my essay on the subject. I had to admit to him that I�d never actually been to Albuquerque, but analysis of the Lexis/Nexis articles I�d found suggested that �Silicon Mesa� was indeed a lot of hype.

Anyway, sorry if putting a copyright on my entries comes off as obnoxious. There does seem to have been a drop over the last few days in the number of my readers. Possibly, people are in a post-New Year�s torpor. Possibly, readers (and I get the feeling that more women read me than men, judging from comment-writers in my guestbook and the general make-up of Diaryland) have been turned off by my recent sports-centric entries.

Sorry. Please do not fear Arvydas Sabonis or Mike Ditka. Both have names that could be easily applied to cologne. �Sabonis � a fragrance for men.� I mean, I usually only make occasional posts about baseball and the season won�t start again for months. And please don�t feel offended by copyright notices. It�s nothing personal. Who�s really going to rip off my rantings anyway?

� 2006 Geoff Gladstone

Yeah, yeah�

previous - next

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!