Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-06-14 - 8:15 p.m.

Nya and I have been talking a lot about our wedding plans recently. Plans often change of course, but for now we�ve decided on a new location that we�re both happy about. We won�t have it by the Brooklyn Bridge, as we�d talked about. Partying under the bridge was certainly a memorable part of our youth, but we�ve both grown far beyond that. No, the only logical place to get married is Las Vegas.

No one�s ever gotten married in Vegas before. We probably won�t have the ceremony officiated by an Elvis impersonator; we want to be as classy-esque-like as you can be in Vegas. We�re thinking Memorial Day weekend next year. Guests (many of whom live on the East Coast) may be more likely to come all the way out there if they have a three-day weekend to spend. Plus many of Nya�s friends are in Denver and could make the 700-mile drive if they need to.

The other night we were listening to April, the new Bishop Allen EP. As I�ve mentioned, they�re putting out one EP every month in 2006 and I�m on the mailing list to get each one (they send them out a little behind schedule, but hey, you try releasing an EP each month�). Getting the next release in the mail is kind of a big deal around here.

We give Charm School, their debut album, pretty heavy rotation. I�m a big fan of course and it contains my theme song from when I was at Brown. When Nya heard it, she also got really into them and said that she�d keep listening to the album even if we broke up (wait, was that supposed to be a threat?). So now we both look forward to getting our monthly dose of new music.

�Flight 180� is the first song on April. It seems to be about flying home, but has obscure enough lyrics that you can apply your own meaning. Maybe it�s over-the-top dramatic, overwrought, even a bit maudlin. I mean good Lord, it uses strings. But Nya pointed out that vocalist Justin�s voice is earnest enough to pull it off. The song may use all the tricks, but it plays them well. It�ll tug at your heart, trust me.

We still have to figure out how we�ll negotiate the traditional first married dance. I can only really do the junior high school, hang-onto-your-partner slow shuffle. I�ve seen weddings where the bride is paraplegic and the groom lifts and holds her in his arms to dance that way. But here the genders are reversed and Nya isn�t strong enough to comfortably hold me to dance.

Maybe I�ll get a heavy-duty wheelchair, have Nya sit on my lap, and roll us to dance like that. Maybe I should ask Sarah, my teacher who uses a wheelchair, how she worked it out at her wedding.

One thing we�re both sure of though is that we�ll dance to �Flight 180�.

� 2006 Geoff Gladstone

previous - next

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!