Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2008-09-05 - 5:55 a.m.

There�s a building a few blocks from me that reminds me so much of where Nya and I went to school. Sort of as a warm-up to starting Sharpe and Frank College, I (and hopefully others will) want to start a school based on Saint Ann�s. A similarly modeled school was started in Connecticut called the Pierpont School. Saint Ann�s is on the corner of Pierpont and Clinton Streets, hence the �Clinton School� (plus my first vote was Bill Clinton and it would be awesome if Chelsea spoke at the opening, but right now that�s only a pipe dream�).

The building is called the Glasser Building (I have no idea who it�s named for). It�s on the National Register of Historic Places, presumably because it�s a beautiful example of Prairie School architecture. There�s (largely vacant) commercial space on the ground floor and (weirdly) residential apartments upstairs. The commercial spaces have large windows that would be great for displaying art. The rear rooms will make perfect quiet classrooms.

I�m hoping to start with just kindergarten kids and first graders. There�s an early childhood development center around the corner that can refer likely prospective students to us. I hope to open in fall 2012 or fall 2013. I�ll talk more about our neighborhood and why it needs a top school in the next entry.

Triple hoo.

� 2008 Geoff Gladstone

If you�ve ever enjoyed my writing style or substance, if you�ve ever learned anything from reading this, please donate to the Accelerated Cure Project for Multiple Sclerosis and/or the Montel Williams MS Foundation. Just $5 is suggested, but give whatever you think it�s worth/can afford. �Charity� is really buying something meaningful to you (and it ain�t just for the wealthy�).

previous - next

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!