Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-01-09 - 8:14 a.m.

Since I plugged his last film, �Funny Ha Ha� (featuring members of Bishop Allen, referenced several times here, like in �top 5 ex-girlfriends (part V)� and �soundtrack�), I figured I�d mention Andrew Bujalski�s new film �Mutual Appreciation�. Justin of Bishop Allen stars and another character is a DJ at Barnard College radio station WBAR, of which my sister was general manager when she was an undergraduate. (I�d be amiss if I didn�t mention that she first set up their broadcast antenna; before you could only hear them on the college campus.)

Apparently, Bujalski has been getting a lot of press touting him as �the voice of his generation� (one critic notes that he must be sick of this by now). Perhaps he�ll eventually sell out hid indie cred and be co-opted to produce Hollywood blockbusters with zillion-dollar budgets and lots of explosions. Perhaps there�ll be a confluence of styles �
Hipster: It�s like, I mean� you know�
Slacker (shrugs): Whatever.
(They both machine gun an onslaught of demons. The caf� explodes.)

The website intrigues me by indicating that the film also contains �half a monologue by Lauren Mechling�. I went to Saint Ann�s School (and later Harvard) with her and she wrote a couple of books about high school set in a thinly-disguised (and pretty unflatteringly characterized) version of it. I didn�t really hang out with her (she was a couple years younger than me), so I didn�t get to hear her ramblings back in the day. What joy I missed, no doubt.

I have to admit that I haven�t seen the movie yet (it currently seems to only screen at film festivals). But I�ll buy a DVD from the website and I suggest you do too.

� 2006 Geoff Gladstone

previous - next

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!