Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2007-08-10 - 3:03 p.m.

Last night, Nya and I went to see Bishop Allen. The show was at a club called Subterranean, which is not actually subterranean but located on the second floor. (The doorman suggested that actually it�s the clientele who are subterranean � FBI guys, undercover DEA agents, etc. I don�t think that�s true, but better not commit any crimes there just in case.) Several people had to carry me (and my chair) up and down the stairs but fortunately I�m a lightweight these days, so it was no big deal.

The show was awesome, of course. The new album, Bishop Allen & the Broken String (which you should buy now), has a number of songs that are reworkings of material from the EPs and they played those. They also did a few songs from their first LP, Charm School. �Things Are What You Make of Them� was in the middle of the set, not an encore as usual. They even did a cover (I�d never heard them play someone else�s song before) of Neil Young�s �Have You Ever Seen the Rain?�

I think Bishop Allen is becoming like Fat Day used to be for me, in that the last show of theirs I�ve seen is always the best one I�ve seen. At the merch table after their set, they fulfilled a wedding present dream of both me and Nya. They gave us a vinyl copy of The Broken String and they all autographed it with personalized good wishes to us! We�re going to frame it (LP owners get a key to access the MP3s) and hang it on the wall above our couch. As Christian wrote: �Flight 180 forever!�

The band is on the tail end of their tour right now. You should go see them. There�s a list of the cities they�ll be in here, but I�ll reprint it here:
Aug 10 Bloomington @ The Rhino
w/ Page France
Aug 11 Dayton @ Nite Owl
w/ Page France
Aug 17 Cambridge @ Middle East Downstairs
w/ Page France & the Teeth
Aug 18 New York @ Bowery Ballroom
This is our CD release show! 16+
w/ Page France, Mobius Band, and Locksley

� 2007 Geoff Gladstone

Argh, a reader just noted that �Have You Ever Seen the Rain?� was actually written by John Fogerty of Creedence Clearwater Revival, not Neil Young. So much for me being an erudite music geek...

previous - next

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!