Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-03-31 - 9:34 a.m.

Nya recently made an offhand comment about pop music in the nursing homes of the future. It got me thinking a lot about the obvious fact that the younger people of today become the older people of tomorrow. When I was 18, my freshman roommate, the King, had a poster of Robert Smith up in our common room.

Under all the make up and hair, he looked amusingly haggard for a publicity photo. We used to crack ourselves up by bellowing �Booooobbbb!� at it. He looked like he needed some encouragement after a hard night of drinking. But I wonder now if the burnt out look I was picking up on was my earliest notion that celebrities inevitably just get older. So do all of us.

I�m no doubt going to hell for this, but when I first started using my wheelchair, I had a dream about Madonna in a wheelchair. She was still loud and brash, yelling at someone in a faux-British accent, just using a chair. While certainly age or disability aren�t things to like root for in the famous, they�re inevitabilities. I mean Mick Jagger is almost 63 and still prancing around on stage.

Anyway, this is short and I�ll be impressed if anyone can develop this schtick beyond the one-joke length:

A room in Shady Hills Nursing Home, 2046:
�Mrs. Goldman, I�m just going to turn the volume down a bit on the Cure here! I�m sure Robert Jones won�t mind.�
�Robert Smith, damn it!�
�Yes, of course. There, there. Now have you taken your medications this evening?�

� 2006 Geoff Gladstone

previous - next

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!