Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2007-06-30 - 6:42 p.m.

On Wednesday, we saw Bishop Allen do a show here. They say Chicago is their favorite city to play and they�re gigging a few times to warm up for their upcoming tour in support of their soon-to-be-released album The Broken String. We got a ride from my friend who was the lead singer of Fat Day (and his wife), who indirectly inspired Bishop Allen to form.

It was, of course, a great show. They performed a few new songs we hadn�t heard before. Plus, apparently some of the songs on the new album are different versions of stuff from the 2006 EPs, so they did those (I wasn�t a big fan of their new, faster version of �The Same Fire�, but whatever). They also played �Charm School�, the title track from their first album, which we hadn�t heard live in a long time.

They unfortunately didn�t get to do an encore because it was an all-ages show, so the club had to close early. This was sad because they always play �Things Are What You Make of Them� as their last song and we had made that our wedding song, switching from �Flight 180� at the last minute. Nya pointed out that �Flight 180� is a bit overly-dramatic and �Things� is much more representative of our relationship.

We still played (and danced to) �Flight 180� at the wedding and that actually ended up being Bishop Allen�s finale, so we did get to hear something wedding-related live. It made me feel really happy to see the band so soon after our wedding.

Speaking of the wedding, it�s about time to start recounting the events from that. I�ll start in the next entry. (Hopefully, I�ll have a new, functional guestbook too, cause I really like the feedback aspect of writing here�)

� 2007 Geoff Gladstone

previous - next

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!