Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2007-03-10 - 7:03 p.m.

Nya and I have been wondering who will complete a new trifecta of celebrity deaths. First Anna Nicole Smith died last month. Then Captain America was shot by a sniper in the comic released a few days ago. Who will be next? They have to embody American-ness and also be a bit ridiculous.

I must say that I�m a bit bemused and even disappointed by the media frenzy over Anna Nicole�s death. I mean she was a sex symbol of my youth, one I found particularly appealing (as I�ve noted, I�m a big fan of big girls). It was weird enough watching the unexpectedly compelling car-wreck of her reality show.

But this detailed dissection of her life in the news now takes it to a whole new level. I really don�t need to hear an intimately detailed life story of the untouchable goddess who used to inspire me to, well you know, do what teenage boys are wont to do. I mean, show some respect and leave well enough alone. Still. She was the first to go.

Then Captain America died. (Being taken out by a sniper seems a pretty ignominious way to go and I suspect a future resurrection, as comics can do, but he�s dead for now.) I was never very into Cap (or most of the Marvel heroes really, except the X-Men) as a kid, but he�s definitely number two.

The lead singer of the band Boston just died, but he�s not nearly famous or ridiculous enough I initially said Don McLean, kind of an American icon for the cryptic �American Pie� and kind of ridiculous for making an entire career out of that one song. But Nya pointed out that his fame doesn�t begin to approach Anna Nicole�s or Cap�s.

Then I said maybe Chuck Berry. He�s certainly American as a pioneer of rock and roll. And he certainly made himself ridiculous later in life with the 1980s discovery that he was installing hidden cameras in the toilets of the women�s bathroom of his restaurant. But, unlike Anna Nicole and Cap, he hasn�t kept himself relevant for an extended time.

I still think it will be a musician of some sort. Perhaps Little Richard, Nya�s call. Quintessentially American, ridiculous by definition, and still making commercials in his 70s. If you have a different idea, I�d love to hear it. Since my guestbook is down, please email me using the link to the left. I�ll post an update with responses.

� 2007 Geoff Gladstone

previous - next

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!