Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-08-12 - 4:43 p.m.

The thing is, when Nya asked me to say where we�d be in five years and in ten and fifteen years, I hadn�t thought about such things for a long time. After I became more disabled, I really stopped thinking about the long term. Ten years out? Shit, that was inconceivable. The very question was meaningless; it didn�t even make sense and I just didn�t consider it.

Only after quite some time getting used to my new self did I even start to think about the medium term. In maybe late winter of 2005, someone asked whether I�d thought of applying to law school. Although soon thereafter I realized more school wasn�t for me, at the time I said maybe I was. I�d be applying for the class of �09 and I actually started to project forward to my next graduation. Four years ahead. Yeah, maybe.

But being with Nya has made me truly think about and look forward to the future. And I�ve realized that, as it always is, life is just a continuum. When I expressed nervousness about writing about my time with no real home, numerous readers emailed or signed my guestbook or left me notes to reassure me (thank you all). Someone pointed out that tales of my sad-ass days were more compelling because of how far I�ve come since then.

That�s quite right. If some of my past was grim and my present is much better, maybe my future can be better still. Isaac Quinn and Sadie Anthony? Well, I hope so and we�ll see. (And yes, I was quite wrong about �A Problem Like Maria� being from West Side Story. Several people pointed out that it�s actually from The Sound of Music.)

At the end, Nya asked where we�d be in fifty years. That one was a bit too far ahead for me to speculate about. I mean, maybe I�ll be dead by then. But one thing I�m quite sure of is that � dead or alive � in fifty years I�ll still be in love with Nya.

� 2006 Geoff Gladstone

previous - next

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!