Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2008-09-04 - 4:44 p.m.

Okay. The second part of my responses to what happened is to start a new college in downtown Providence (an area known as �Downcity� to the hip). It will be called �Sharpe and Frank College�.this will be for Martha Joukowski (nee Sharpe), dean at Brown and 1952(?) graduate of Pembroke, the women�s college that used to be attached to Brown, who told us about Korean War veterans who attended Brown after serving and were admired by other students for being older. Also for Sidney Frank (distributor of Jagermeister and Grey Goose vodka) who spent one year at Brown before joining the service for WWII then making his billions in liquor and donating hundreds of millions to Brown.

Specifically I�d like to start the school in the perpetually untenanted spaces of the Arcade mall. This building has always had a problem renting retail space in its top two floors. However, this area would make excellent quiet teaching rooms. The ground floor (which occasionally has turnover vacancies from the rotating lunch/breakfast restaurants) would make perfect art classrooms where office workers passing by can see art in the windows and watch classes going on inside (no nude models of course). Possibly there could be a second campus in New Rochelle, NY, Sidney Frank�s hometown, but one step at a time.

My hope is that it will eventually become �Sharpe and Frank College of Brown University�. Otherwise it�ll have to become the independent �Sharpe and Frank University�. But right now because I�m so� I�ll say gosh-darn annoyed! at Brown I�m going to warm up to it by starting a school for younger kids here in our neighborhood. I�ll talk about this more in the next entry.

Double hoo.

� 2008 Geoff Gladstone

If you�ve ever enjoyed my writing style or substance, if you�ve ever learned anything from reading this, please donate to the Accelerated Cure Project for Multiple Sclerosis and/or the Montel Williams MS Foundation. Just $5 is suggested, but give whatever you think it�s worth/can afford. �Charity� is really buying something meaningful to you (and it ain�t just for the wealthy�).

previous - next

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!