Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-07-03 - 7:33 p.m.

Take the MIT Weblog Survey

This is a link to a sociological survey of weblog writers and readers. I�d urge you to participate and help the guy out. However, I found a few problems with the survey myself.

First of all, there were just some technical flaws. It combed my journal for hotlinks to other pages and asked me about them. But since it only looked at my latest entry (which was this one) and it didn�t have any links, all it could come up with was the link to sign my guestbook at the bottom.

More importantly, it asked what the primary reasons for writing to your weblog. It gave a list of reasons, but the main reason I write (and probably a lot of other people too) wasn�t listed. For me, keeping this journal is mostly an opportunity to think things through carefully and to practice my writing skills.

Oh, there was a choice for �Keep notes or record what's going on in your life�. But that makes it seem like you�re just tracking what things you ate (although, I guess I do actually write some restaurant reviews here). Other reasons included �Keep in touch with friends� (few of mine read this regularly), �Keep a list of links to things you have read�, or �Comment about things you read in the news�.

Well, that implies that the main point of blogging is to blather about current events. I mean, I guess there are people who do this. It�s just not why I do this. My journal is just not the pulse of current views on policy, sorry. Why should anyone care about my political opinions anyway? Hell, do I really even care about the folks on Crossfire or whatever�s opinions that seriously?

So again, please take the survey. But send him email noting you don�t buy the choices offered. There should at least be a check box for �Other/not listed here�.

� 2005 Geoff Gladstone

previous - next

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!