Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-06-17 - 10:06 p.m.

So the main activity while I was in Denver (I flew back Wednesday) was smoking up and eating meat. As it should be. At the end of last summer, when I was really having a hard time coming to terms with disability, Phil came to visit me in Providence. It occurred to me that I�ve known him since we were 13 (we met at CTY nerd camp; that was him cranking New Order when we first did the underwear dance) and we�ve been smoking up and acting st00pid most of that time.

We also watched bad TV on his giant high-definition set. A perfect use of expensive technology. Court TV crime investigation stuff he�d saved on his Tivo and Aqua Teen Hunger Force on DVD, which I determined is unquestionably meant to be watched while stoned. Make the homies say �Ho!�; make the girlies wanna scream. And Tivo is a great invention. I mean, you might end up buying some crap if you can�t zap through commercials. But more fun than that, we ate things.

There�s a Brazilian rodizio right in his building and when I was just too baked to walk much, we�d go there. They had a nice patio and, hey, all-you-can-eat meat. We talked about how, in retrospect, I should have brought my wheelchair. It may be embarrassing to me, but it would often be more efficient than me trying to walk around perilously. Inside, I eventually took to rolling around his loft on a chair. One night, we went to a brewpub across the street from his house. To get back it was just simpler for me to climb into a shopping cart and let Phil wheel me home. Kind of fun, too.

I actually went to probably the most interesting restaurants with N. (yeah, I�ll write more about that later; I still have to wrap my head around it). We had lunch at the Buckhorn Exchange. They lay on the Olde West schtick pretty thick, but they really are Denver�s oldest restaurant. I had Rocky Mountain oysters, mostly just to say I did it (they�re nothing to write home about; deep-fried food tends to taste the same), and elk (which was tasty and not tough like I expected). We also went to a barbecue place and the Uptown Tavern near her for Trivia Night (we came in second). I had a buffalo burger (buffalo meat is sadly too lean and dry to make a good burger).

Plus, Phil got take-out burritos a bunch. As he noted, living in a hipster neighborhood like LoDo makes it hard to get good, cheap take-out. Mexicans are apparently the big minority in Denver (it turns out that most of Hispanic America is Mexican, not Puerto Rican as in my New York childhood) and their food is really good. But Denverites are apparently very picky about their burritos and ordering one requires negotiating endless questions: Black beans or pinto? Cheese or no cheese? Lettuce and tomato? Should I care?

There are always new things to eat, interestingly. It never gets old, at least not that I�ve found. I hope Phil and I are eating yummy food, watching dumb TV, and smoking up for a long time to come.

� 2005 Geoff Gladstone

previous - next

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!