Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-06-08 - 6:56 p.m.

This morning I flew to Denver to see my friend Phil. I was kind of nervous, as I�ve never flown with a disability before (I guess I haven�t flown since I went to San Francisco with Alithea last year). Airports are giant spaces that I can�t really navigate anymore. I had talked to the airline about needing accommodation when I was cashing in my frequent flyer miles, but I�d still never done this.

It worked out real nice. I flew out of Newark and they met me curbside with a wheelchair. (I must note that I�ve been in pretty bad shape the last few days partly because I�ve been with my parents who treat me like an utterly helpless dependent, and I start to believe them.) A skycap wheeled me to a seat by the gate.

Of course, my flight was late an hour and a half. By the time we boarded, the skycaps had apparently forgotten about me and I figured I�d have to walk to the jetway entrance on my own. But people can be so nice. Another passenger saw I was having a hard time and lent me her shoulder for balance to get on the plane.

When we landed in Denver, I also got wheelchair service. Thank God, because the Denver airport is huge. Like, trams and stuff. The guy who pushed me was really nice (Phil tells me niceness is mandated by law in Colorado) and we went all the way out to the sidewalk. It turned out we couldn�t get a cab where we were, but I made it downstairs okay and we got one on the level below.

So now I�m at Phil�s loft n LoDo. We�ve already smoked up and watched st00pid cartoons. I expect we�ll do a lot more of this in the week ahead. I also want to go to a Rockies game (Coors Field is only a few blocks away) and hopefully see N. It�s really nice out here, much cooler than the East Coast. Possibly, we�ll sit on the porch and drink margaritas much of the time. When I think about it, few things could make me happier.

� 2005 Geoff Gladstone

previous - next

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!